This website uses Cookies

We use cookies for necessary website functionalities, for social media functionalities and for webiste statistics and analysis. More information can be found in our privacy policy.

I agree with the use of cookies for:

Necessary functionalities and anonymous statistics

As of March 1, 2022, registered partnerships from particular countries and regions are no longer recognized by the IND. If you have a certificate of registered partnership from one of these countries or regions, you are considered unmarried by the IND. This has, among other things, consequences for family reunification.

To be eligible for family reunification, you have to meet the requirements for unmarried partners, such as submitting a declaration of unmarried status.

It concerns registered partnerships from the following countries and regions:


  • Croatia (partnership from August 5, 2014 is recognized)
  • Norway (partnership before January 1, 2009 is recognized)
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovenia (partnership from February 24, 2017 is recognized)
  • Spain
    • Canary Islands
    • Cantabria (partnership from December 30, 2015 is recognized)
    • Catalonia (partnership from January 1, 2011 is not recognized)
    • Castilla y Leon
    • Ceuta
    • Extremadura
    • Galicia (partnership from January 28, 2008 is recognized)
    • La Rioja
    • Madrid
    • Melilla
    • Murcia
    • Navarra
  • Iceland (partnership before June 27, 2010 is recognized)
  • Sweden (partnership before May 1, 2009 is recognized)

 Outside of Europe

  • Argentina
  • Australia
    • Norfolk Island
    • Northern Territory
    • Tasmania (Caring relationship)
    • Western Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
    • Alberta
    • Manitoba
    • Colombia
  • Gabon
  • Israel
  • Uruguay
  • United States
    • Maryland
    • Massachusetts
    • New Jersey (Domestic Partnership)
    • Wisconsin

sign up to our monthly newsletter (in English)

I am aware of and agree with the privacy policy