This website uses Cookies

We use cookies for necessary website functionalities, for social media functionalities and for webiste statistics and analysis. More information can be found in our privacy policy.

I agree with the use of cookies for:

Necessary functionalities and anonymous statistics

Since March 2020, travel to the Netherlands has been restricted with several measures. These travel restrictions originate from European law regulations drawn up by the European Commission on the one hand, and national regulations on the other hand. This article provides an overview of the current restrictions. We will also discuss exceptions to the entry restrictions.



The Council of the European Union recommended a gradual lifting of entry restrictions from 30 June 2020. Until that date it was not possible to make non-essential journeys to a country within the European Union. The recommendation includes a list of countries from which travel to the EU is permitted. This list is updated from time to time and published on our website. Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City are considered EU residents under the recommendation.
If a non-EU country is not included in the list published by the Council, this means that all non-essential journeys to the EU+ area are not allowed. In addition to 26 of the 27 EU member states, the EU+ area also includes four states that fall under the Schengen Convention, namely Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. Ireland is the only Member State that is not a party to the European travel restrictions.

National/The Netherlands

The travel restrictions that apply to the European Union are in principle the same as in the Netherlands. This means that in order to travel to the Netherlands for a non-essential journey, the same list of countries from which these journeys are permitted will be used as indicated earlier.

However, there are several specific exceptional situations when traveling to the Netherlands:

  • Temporary arrangement for long-distance lovers
  • Exception entry ban business travelers
  • Exception entry ban for top sport
  • Exception entry ban for culture, science, and journalism

Conditions for the exceptions

For more information, please contact Thomas van Houwelingen.

sign up to our monthly newsletter (in English)

I am aware of and agree with the privacy policy