This website uses Cookies

We use cookies for necessary website functionalities, for social media functionalities and for webiste statistics and analysis. More information can be found in our privacy policy.

I agree with the use of cookies for:

Necessary functionalities and anonymous statistics

[Last update 13 August 2020]

Morocco removed from the list.

[31 July 2020]

Algeria was removed from the list.

[8 July 2020]

Serbia and Montenegro were removed from the list below.

[30 June 2020]

On June 30, 2020, it was announced that the travel restrictions for non-essential travel should be lifted for travelers from the following countries:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

Travelers from China are only admitted subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Residence in a third country for which the restrictions on non-essential travel have been lifted should be the determining factor (and not nationality). Travelers from these countries can be subjected the quarantine measures, provided these also apply to nationals of the Member State imposing them. 

This list will be reviewed every 2 weeks and can be updated. In order for the restrictions to be lifted, the following circumstances have to be taken into account. 

  • number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100 000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average
  • stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days
  • overall response to COVID-19 including on aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information

Reciprocity should also be taken into account regularly and on a case-by-case basis.

For other countries the original travel restrictions for non-essential travel will remain in place.

For more information please contact Thomas van Houwelingen or Kirsty Gies.

sign up to our newsletter

mr.    mrs.

I am aware of and agree with the privacy policy