This website uses Cookies

We use cookies for necessary website functionalities, for social media functionalities and for webiste statistics and analysis. More information can be found in our privacy policy.

I agree with the use of cookies for:

Necessary functionalities and anonymous statistics

The Dutch Cabinet has decided to adopt the EU-proposal of an entry ban for non-essential travel. Entry into the Netherlands from a third country (outside the EU and Schengen member states and the UK) is banned up until 1 July 2020. 

[11 May 2020]

On May 8, 2020, the EU Commission requested the Schengen Member States to extend the ban on non-essential travel for another 30 days, until June 15th.

[18 March 2020]

Yesterday evening, the EU decided that all ‘non-essential’ travel to the Schengen area is banned for at least 30 days. Read the FAQ below.

Who can still enter Europe as a resident?

According to the information available, the only people exempt from the travel ban would be:

  • All EU citizens and citizens of the Schengen Associated States, and their family members
  • Permanent residents;
  • Third country nationals with a residence permit or long term visa (D)

This means that anyone whois  currently abroad but can exercise their legal residence in the Netherlands, will be able to return.

What if my mvv application was already approved but I do not have my entry visa yet?

You cannot travel to the Netherlands. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that until at least April 6, 2020 it will not be possible to submit entry visa applications (mvv, D visa). As far as we know now, you can request for an extension at the embassy / consulate if your 3 months’ deadline to collect your mvv is about to expire.

Who can still enter Europe as a visitor?

Further, the exception applies to travelers with an essential function or need:

  • Healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;
  • Frontier workers;
  • Transport personnel;
  • Diplomats, staff of international organizations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers in the exercise of their functions;
  • Passengers in transit;
  • Passengers travelling for imperative family reasons;
  • Persons in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reasons

Short-term travelers with a different purpose are only allowed entry on a case-by-case basis. This appears to be up to the discretion of the border guard.

It appears not to be possible to apply for new Schengen visa at diplomatic posts overseas.

Which countries should apply these restrictions?

All countries part of the Schengen area and EU Member States have to apply these rules, to prevent uncoordinated travel restrictions. Ireland and the United Kingdom are explicitly encouraged to also implement this temporary travel restriction.

What if I already am in the Netherlands, as a visitor?

An extension of your visitor’s stay will be necessary. More information can be found in our previous article here.

For more information, please contact Marcel Reurs, Bram van Melle or Thomas van Houwelingen by email, or phone us: +31(0) 20-752 32 00.

sign up to our monthly newsletter (in English)

I am aware of and agree with the privacy policy