This website uses Cookies

We use cookies for necessary website functionalities, for social media functionalities and for webiste statistics and analysis. More information can be found in our privacy policy.

I agree with the use of cookies for:

Necessary functionalities and anonymous statistics

From 24 June 2021 onwards the following countries will be added to the list:

  • Albania
  • Lebanon
  • North Macedonia 
  • Serbia
  • Taiwan
  • United States

 Travel restrictions for non-essential travel are lifted for travelers from the following countries:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • South Korea
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Israel
  • Vatican City

Travelers from China are only admitted subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Residence in a third country for which the restrictions on non-essential travel have been lifted should be the determining factor (and not nationality). Travelers from these countries can be subjected the quarantine measures, provided these also apply to nationals of the Member State imposing them. 

This list will be reviewed every 2 weeks and can be updated. In order for the restrictions to be lifted, the following circumstances have to be taken into account. 

  • number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100 000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average
  • stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days
  • overall response to COVID-19 including on aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information

Reciprocity should also be taken into account regularly and on a case-by-case basis.

For other countries the original travel restrictions for non-essential travel will remain in place.

For more information please contact Thomas van Houwelingen or Kirsty Gies.

Changes in entry restrictions

From 4 September 2021 a number of changes came into effect that will impact travel to the Netherlands.

Read more ...

Exemption from EU entry ban from 1 July 2021

If you want to travel to the Netherlands from a country not on the safe countries list, you will be exempted from the EU entry ban if you have proof of vaccination. This proof needs to be issued according to certain requirements in order to be accepted.

Read more ...

Travel restrictions lifted

From 24 June 2021 onwards the following countries will be added to the list:

Read more ...

EU travel restrictions relaxed

On May 12, 2021, the government announced that travel restrictions for the following travelers from outside the EU will be relaxed:

Read more ...

Travel restrictions to the Netherlands

Update 1 June 2021

As of 1 June 2021, the ban on flights from India, South Africa and countries in Central and South America has been lifted.

Self-quarantine for 10 days after arrival is now mandatory. You can shorten this period if you take a test on day 5 and the result is negative. Check the government website for details.
Read more ...

Negative Covid-19 test result required upon entry

From 15 December, 2020, travelers by airplane or by ship, who are 13 years or older and arrive from a country that is not on the list of safe countries, must show a negative test result upon arrival at the (air)port in the Netherlands.

Read more ...

Travel restrictions lifted for unmarried partners (short stay)

[update: July 27 2020]

On July 16 the Minister of Justice and Security announced that travel restrictions for unmarried partners from non-EU countries would be relaxed from July 27, 2020. Further details have been published.   

Read more ...